Show Us Your Shelfie: Malikah Hall

1. Name, Title, Librarymhallshelfiejan17-1
Malikah Hall, J.D., M.L.S.
Diversity Fellow, Research Services Librarian, & Lecturer-in-Law
Cornell Law Library

2. Tell us about your Shelfie (Where is it? What’s on it, and why?)
My shelfie is in my office at Cornell. I have been with Cornell since August 2015. In that time, I have accumulated 7 mugs associated with the law library via gift. 7 are plastic and 2 are ceramic. At this point, I take it as a challenge to see how many I can have by August of 2017. It goes to show just the perception of law librarians as coffee/tea drinkers. I’m not sure if perception is the right word. Fact works better.

mhallshelfiejan17-23. What is your favorite thing on your shelf?
All cups with lids. I am a librarian after all. Protect the materials from your liquids!

4. Besides your workplace library (naturally), what is the coolest library you have ever seen/been to?
Orestad Bibliotek in Orestad, Denmark. Several floors of awesomeness. Technically, the library is a school library for students in 1-5th grade. However, I call it the punk rock library because it embodies the idea of a library as a third place. They hire vendors to sell coffee and treats outside. There is no quiet area. There is a space where teachers can work on their lesson plans and work product with other teachers in the surrounding neighborhood. Before the library was built, they went out into the community and asked the patrons what they wanted in their new library and they really took those ideas to heart (within reason of course). I left the tour feeling inspired.

5. What do you like the most about being a librarian? What do you like the least?
One of the reasons why I chose librarianship over practice is that I wanted to be able to help people gain access to justice without feeling defeated all the time. This is was the best of both worlds. I can let patrons and students know what resources are out there to best help themselves.

There is food everywhere all the time. I would love to get back in shape but the temptation is everywhere. I literally walk around certain areas of the building to avoid donuts and free pizza. If I see it, I’m eating it.

6. What is the best advice you’ve ever been given?
Nothing beats a failure but a try. For a long time I was afraid of hearing the word no or failing at a challenge. So I just didn’t do things I was capable of doing. That’s in the past. The worst thing that a person can say is no. No isn’t going to kill you. Try it – you just might like it.

7. Who is your library/librarian hero (or the person who inspired (inspires) you to be a librarian)?
Ismail Abdullahi. He has been a librarian or years and is a professor at North Carolina Central University where I earned my JD/MLS. He is passionate about the profession of librarianship and you can feel it in his presence. He was always willing to help me with any academic issues and really pushed students to strive to be the best we could be.

8. What was your best day on the job?
I had a student who is in the U.S. Army Reserves. He couldn’t make one of the classes but said he would try his best, so I sent him the assignment and my PowerPoint. He got every single answer right. So I was very proud that I put something together that could help him learn the material on his own.

9. What was the last book you read? Digital or Print?
Written in my own heart’s blood. It is the last Outlander series book. The author is currently working on the next installment and I am waiting with breath that is baited. It was digital copy because I no longer have shelf space.

10. What’s the last thing you Googled?
Poutine Burger. I like to eat and I wondered if said delicacy exists. It does. I will try this soon.

11. Cats or Dogs?
DOGS!!!!

12. Coffee or Tea?
Both because I’m no quitter.

13. How many cardigans do you own 😉 
19 and counting

14. Favorite Word? Least favorite word?
Favorite word – Family (we are very tightknit)
Least favorite word – Moist (typing it made my skin crawl)

15. What’s your perfect Sunday afternoon look like?
Hanging out with dog and watching The Walking Dead.

Leave a Reply

